Tuesday, June 6, 2023

Cornwall, Newburgh Students Receive Humanities Awards

Students from the Cornwall Central School District and Newburgh Free Academy were among those recognized at the annual Humanities Honoree Awards Ceremony held at Orange-Ulster BOCES last week.

A total of 34 high school students from all over Orange County were recognized for distinguishing themselves in the arts and humanities. The event celebrated seniors and juniors who have stood out amongst their peers by showing an impressive dedication, skill, and commitment to the arts and humanities.

Cornwall students Madeline D’Arco and James Gibbons, as well as Newburgh students Manuel Tejeda and Angelina Vuong, all received the awards.

Each high school and the BOCES nominated two students to be the recipients of this award.  The honorees and their guests enjoyed a special breakfast held at the Country Club at Otterkill to celebrate the students’ outstanding accomplishments in the fine arts, performing arts, and the humanities.

The keynote speaker for the event was local architect, artist, and sculptor Amy Lewis Sweetman, founder of Agrisculpture.  She urged the Humanities Honoree awardees to “Never give up – always give back, and see all ‘problems’ as design opportunities!”

The full list of the Humanities Honoree awardees is below:

  • Kira Iovine and Antonio Nieves (Chester Academy)
  • Madeline D’Arco and James Gibbons (Cornwall HS)
  • Grace Donnelly and Chima Oparaji (George F. Baker HS)
  • Colin Ahearn and Lauren Carroll (Goshen HS)
  • Grace Lindberg and Jeremy Stoll (James I. O’Neill HS)
  • Julia Bevacqua and Joshua Gonzalez (Marguerite A. Flood HS)
  • Olivia Goodenough and Autumn Pitkin (Marlboro HS)
  • Ava Cain and Juliana Speckenbach (Middletown HS)
  • Amber Rosado and Nathan Samse (Minisink Valley HS)
  • James Dawson and Eryn Sammut (Monroe-Woodbury HS)
  • Manuel Tejeda and Angelina Vuong (Newburgh Free Academy)
  • Kate Fowler and Kiera Masci (Pine Bush HS)
  • Coral Garcia and Ariana Merchan-Espada (Port Jervis HS)
  • Camila Fuentes and Morghan Mahoney (S.S. Seward Institute)
  • Sierra DeVito and Emilee Hogan (Valley Central HS)
  • Adella Kurosz and Lionel Wolfe (Warwick Valley HS)
  • Grace Gorczynski and Hailey Leonard (Washingtonville HS)

Related Articles

Leave a Comment (Logon via Facebook, Twitter or Google)




Latest Articles

The Newburgh News