Saturday, December 9, 2023

48 NFA Students Inducted into NYS Science Honor Society

Forty-eight students from Newburgh Free Academy were inducted into the Science National Honor Society, the Newburgh Enlarged City School District announced today. Newburgh Free Academy represents the Reginald Gilbert Shaw, Chapter #24.

The New York State Science Honor Society was created to recognize students who prove their excellence in science. These capable students have demonstrated their scientific ability in the classroom as well as in the school and the community. As members, the students further their scientific integrity by spreading and, in turn, furthering their knowledge.

NFA’s chapter of the NYSSHS puts particular focus on bringing science and technology to the community. Annually, members participate in cleaning up local parks, peer tutoring, science fairs, citizen science, and promoting environmental awareness.  

Members must complete ten hours of science engagement which may include Citizen Science projects, science tutoring, STEM related clubs, science volunteering and internships, etc.

NFA teachers Sue Arduino and Tara Redican are the co-advisors. The student executive team, who ran the ceremony, are Co-Presidents Michelle Jiang and Aarav Shah. The Vice President of Membership at the NFA Main Campus is Rylee Merli and the Vice President of Membership at NFA North Campus is Sicily Henry. The Secretary is Skylar Deitz and the Treasurer is Gurleen Kaur. The Historian is Melissa Vldals.

The Science Honor Society supports its members in becoming scientific and technologically aware individuals. Students leave high school with qualities, skills and experiences that promote leadership, science, technology, and character.

This year’s inductees include Neeloy Ahamed, Fernanda Angel, Armaan Arellano, Anthony Argueta, , Stephen Barnes, Karla Barraza, Glenn Bera, Hannah Bove, Lauren Cao, Richard Chen, Tatum Connolly-Wazewski, Aidee Contreras, Emily Cullen, Gabrielle DeSiervo, Angela Duong, Megan Evans, Jessica Fendt, Ava Forbes, Thomas Giorgianni, Lennox Guzman, Sarah Hyun, Aidan Jiang, Anakin Landolfa, Robert Lennon, Dillon Murillo, Jessica Ngo, Adrianna Ochang, Aydan Ortega, Scarlett Penfold, ,Kashmini Persaud, Zoe Phemister, Gaelen Pollick, Gianna Puleo, Emily Ramirez, Angelo Reade, Reagan Roth, Marissa Rounds, Mariela Santos, Kevin Segali, Dev Shah, Ghaniya Shahkhan, Alexandra Swink, Valarie Tam, Daylena Vera, Aleida Vidals, Braeden Villano, Angelina Vuong, Alyssa Williams, and Eric Zheng.

Related Articles

Leave a Comment (Logon via Facebook, Twitter or Google)




Latest Articles

The Newburgh News